Don’t sweat the small stuff on social media

There is no space for perfectionists on social media.
When I began my social media journey years ago – I used to spend time over thinking my tweets/Facebook posts… ‘Does that make sense? ‘Are there any spelling mistakes/typos?’ ‘Will this offend anyone in anyway’…

It’s soooo easy to make typos/spelling mistakes and do you know what? There is nothing wrong with that. Ideally it is good to be aware if what you are saying makes sense.  However if you over analyse everything it will just become stilted and non authentic. You may even run the risk of not updating social media at all. Social media moves on sooooooo fast and so do the people using it.

I was on my way to a meeting in Glasgow last weekend. As the train pulled into Central station, a mass of smoke enveloped the station. I jumped off the train with my arm covering my mouth from the stinking smoke and followed the crowd to the exit. I soon discovered the Blue Lagoon Chip shop was on fire… (again)…. as any normal social media addict would do… I quickly captured an image and proceeded to upload it to my Twitter feed.

Not giving the tweet my full attention- I sent the little beaut into Twitter land. Shortly afterwards it made headlines in the Evening Times. Nice!

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/14307139.Fire_crews_tackle_city_centre_chip_shop_blaze/?ref=rss

blue lagoon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Course at the time when I crafted the tweet… I changed a few words about … yip you guessed it spelling mistakes and typos appeared. Did I give it my full attention? Nope. Did I care? Nope.
However a Mr Steve Graham did…

New Picture (9).

 

 

 

Thank you for taking the time out to comment on that Steve… Furthermore- thank you for giving me some inspiration for my next blog post. Every cloud!

Oh and in answer to your question – Yes I can spell but no it really doesn’t matter on social media.

To be continued…

 

